How are Fiber Optic Transceivers Classified

Fiber optic transceivers are classified into different categories based upon the nature of the fiber optic transceivers. The classification can be determined by a number of factors. The factors may range depending upon the type of transceiver and the application for which it’s intended. For example, the transfer distance may be a criterion for classifying transceivers, or the work level/rate points may be classification criteria for fiber optic transceivers. Here is an explanation of these criteria and some other criteria used to classify fiber optic transceivers.

How to Fiber Optic Transceivers Classified
Data Transfer Distance
Fiber optic transceivers cannot all transfer the same distance. For instance, a multimode transceiver transmission will typically include a distance of 2 km to 5 km. A single-mode transceiver can transmit a distance from 20 km to 120 km. This is important in selecting a transceiver for an application. If the transmission distance is not adequate, the application will not work properly. Data transmission distance may be affected by whether the transceivers are single fiber or dual fiber.

Work Level/Rate Points
Work-level and rate points can be divided into different categories, which range from 10 M to 1000 M. These points are categorized into two different types: rack-mounted fiber optic transceivers or desktop fiber optic transceivers. Desktop fiber optic transceivers are typically chosen for a low-traffic environment or one user. For instance, if there is a need to “meet the corridor in a single switch on the joint,” fiber optic transceivers may be used. By contrast, rack-mounted fiber optic transceivers are designed for multi-user aggregation.

When points according to work are discussed, the full duplex mode occurs when the data transmission is transmitted by two different transmission lines. There is communication at both ends of the device and are used for both sending and receiving operations. In this type of transceiver configuration, there is, typically, no time delay generated by the operation.

The half-duplex mode is used with a single transmission line that is used for both reception and transmission. The communication cannot occur simultaneously in the same direction. That’s why it’s called the half-duplex system.

Managed Versus Unmanaged Transceivers
Unmanaged Ethernet optical transceivers are typically plug and play. They may have electrical interfaces with hardware DIP switch settings mode. With managed Ethernet fiber optic transceivers, they support a carrier-grade network management.

Built-In Power Supply Versus External Power Supply
A built-in power supply fiber optic transceiver can support equipment power protection, filters, and a wide power supply voltage regulator. This type of configuration reduces the external point of failure. An external power supply is preferred because the device is affordable and compact.

Classification of Fiber Optic Transceivers
When your design calls for fiber optic transceivers, these classification criteria will come in handy. They will help you select the proper transceiver for your application and ensure that your customers are satisfied with the reliability of the application. If the proper classification is not chosen, the device may fail prematurely and become unreliable. To avoid undesirable outcomes, always be familiar with the classification of fiber optic transceivers.

Comments are closed.